Something Swedish

Versatile Blog Award

4 Comments

Thank you so much Housewifedownunder for the versatile blogger award: “for all her interesting insights on life in Sweden, plus lots of great photos.”

Everyone should check out her blog, as she would have been on my list to nominate had she not just won one!

The Rules:

If you are nominated, you’ve been awarded the Versatile Blogger award.

1. Thank the person who gave you this award. That’s common courtesy.
2. Include a link to their blog. That’s also common courtesy — if you can figure out how to do it.
3. Select 15 excellent blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly.
4. Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award
5. Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

My nominations for the Versatile Blogger Award:

Well, if this has taught me anything it is that I need to update my blog roll. It is hard to narrow a reading list down to 15, which is somehow both a large and a small amount. To be honest when you follow 80+ blogs the radar gets rather jammed.  I wanted to make sure to diversify my choices,  there are so many deserving versatile blogs. The fun thing  is that I am a silent reader to some of these blogs, so I am excited to give them recognition. This list is not in any particular order.

Backpacksandpumpkins: I love reading about all the places she has been, the short stories about different countries and food she has eaten from that place is the perfect lead up to each simple and delicious recipe.
A quick succession of busy nothings: Always filled with tons of gorgeous photos of herself, her toddler daughter, and of England, where she moved to a few years ago.
Becomingmadame: She is an expat who has introduced me to anything and everything French; from cooking, to customs, lifestyle, to literature.
Dodgingcommas: She reminds me to write, to read, to be inspired, as well as inspiring.
Penny For My Thoughts: A strong voice for women in technology, politics, and her job, and the world. She is tech/geek with strong opinions, motivation, inspiration, and loves to talk about getting healthy and fit.
Americanhermitcrab: From her adventures about moving to Denmark & Sweden, cooking, photography, and all the things in-between- always a fun read.
Domesticdivamd: Fun personal stories introduce her recipes, I adore the names of the posts and dishes.
Belovelive: An American living in Sweden with her wife, she is always very positive and I enjoy her outlook on life. A day to day blog with beautiful photos.
Thenicethingaboutstrangers: Beautifully written, captivating stories about her personal interactions with, or observations of strangers.
Prince Vince Meets the World: A truly touching blog about the ins and outs of raising a child with Down Syndrome. They  just moved from Austria back to Sweden.
Eat, Play, Love: An adorable family with two young kids who “travel” by cooking meals together that come from different countries. Lovely mix of funny and touching family stories, great photos, food, and even a rating system of the food they cook.
Girlmeetsbulgaria: Scavenger hunt Sunday, Randomly Me Monday, Wordless Wednesday- follow her as she begins her journey back to Bulgaria.
BA Expat: Gives great insight and advice on being an expat, life, sleep, health, philosophy, and many more things.

My “7 Things”:

1. In  high school I wanted to be on the Volleyball or Softball team, but never did because I would have to give up on the school news paper. I loved being the photo editor and stuck with it, never pursuing any other interests until second year of college. My father was scared I’d actually become a journalist and have to report in dangerous countries.

2. Never being outside the U.S., I somehow found love half way around the world.

3. I love hedgehogs, the number 3, and the color teal.

4. It was my husbands idea for me to start this blog as an outlet to start writing again, to maybe one day pursue my dreams.

5.  At my 8th or 9th birthday party my cousin dressed up as a clown and I hid under the dining room table crying and screaming until the clown went away. Ever since then, I have had a crippling fear of clowns. And no, I have never read or seen “IT.”

6. I didn’t have a cell phone until about 5 years ago. Throughout High school and some of college I was the only person using a beeper.

7. I don’t know anything about, recognize, or care about actors, singers, comedians, politicians. If you say a famous name or even show me a photo it will go over my head 95% of the time. Yes, I have blissfully lived under a rock.

4 thoughts on “Versatile Blog Award

  1. I like this blog! Hard to believe you have ‘lived under a rock’ all these years, and yet — LOOK AT YOU NOW!!!!

  2. Congratulations on your award!

  3. Congratulations on your award and thank you so much for nominating mine, it means a lot! x

  4. Hi Meg, so funny (and sad!) about the clowns. I’m a little bothered by clowns too.

    Anyway, I can’t believe I still haven’t gotten around to commenting on this post yet. Thank so much for the kind mention… I’m really pleased about it! I’m sorry I’ve not been able to pass the award on through my blog, things have been a bit busy and my blogging has had to take a back seat, unfortunately.

Comments, Feedback, Questions, and Answers are Welcome Here!