Something Swedish

Celebrating Cinnamon Rolls in Sweden

8 Comments

October 4th: a day to cherish and savor the beloved cinnamon roll (which originates from Sweden), or “Kanelbulle” a little more than normal.

2013-10-04 15.36.37

To celebrate last year I made Swedish and American Cinnamon rolls side by side to compare. Read about that experiment HERE.

2013-10-04 15.18.242013-10-04 15.25.26huh

This year, however, I decided to do something different (AKA: less work) and compared cinnamon buns from different local bakeries.

2013-10-04 21.49.02

I used the same bakeries as when we tasted Semlor last year, in this post HERE (read about each bakery, and another delicious Swedish pastry there)

2013-10-04 21.49.55

At first I was unsure, a cinnamon roll is a cinnamon roll, right? Would they really be THAT different? Here’s our results:

2013-10-04 21.48.22

Traditional kanelbulle, perfect for fika. At only 7kr ($1), you can’t go wrong. A bit more cardemum flavoring, but overall a balanced bun.

2013-10-04 21.48.37

At 14 kr ($2), we were hoping that this would be a big step up, but it wasn’t. It was sweeter and a bit nicer – but not 7 kr worth. I liked this one more than the “benchmark” from Östras, but it was too pricey.

2013-10-04 21.47.54

Even though it looks sloppy, this cinnamon bun was surprisingly delicious. Discouraged by the 15kr price tag, I had my hesitations, but the addition of almond paste really made for an especially tasty treat.

RESULTS:

Paulssons is our choice when we want something a little more festive, like celebrating Kanelbullar dag.

Östras is our day-to-day take-away cinnamon bun.

Regnbågen is a nice treat if you’re having fika there and want to enjoy something sweet.

2013-10-04 21.53.41

I hope those of you in Halmstad find this helpful! Either way, no matter where you are – I hope you had a kanelbulle today!

8 thoughts on “Celebrating Cinnamon Rolls in Sweden

  1. I made cinnamon rolls in celebration for my daughter today.It also happens to be my brothers birthday.

  2. Makes me think of my Grandma – I LOVE cinnamon rolls! Cinnamon has been found to fight cancer as well – double benefit.

  3. Is that salt sprinkled on top, or some type of decorative finishing touch? They all look delicious!

  4. We went with the ICA ones that were on special for 5kr and they were tasty!

  5. Work put on a spread with organic cinnamon buns from heaven. They were sooo good. I had two.

  6. Hi! I just found your blog today, and I can’t stop reading it! I grew up celebrating my swedish heritage, especially the Jul traditions, and spent a semester in Jonkoping in an exchange program in college. Your blog is so informational! for instance, I never knew exactly why Swedes celebrated St. Lucia, an Italian Saint, until I read your blog. And I didn’t realize the hustomten were different from the Jultomten. I have been reading your previous blog posts and am looking forward to all future posts! Thank you for sharing your life with us!

  7. I just came across this – sounds like a great experiment, trying all those cinnamon buns 🙂 My parents have a cottage in Sweden, but they’ve never told me about cinnamon buns having a whole day to themselves. I will have to go to Sweden on 4th October this year just to eat buns!

Comments, Feedback, Questions, and Answers are Welcome Here!

