Something Swedish

Tickets to New York

17 Comments

Last week we booked our flight for New York- three week vacation with family and friends back home. Seems pretty far away, leaving June 26th, but it is really just around the corner. I’m so excited to see everyone and catch up. In the mean time I’ve made a list of some things I’ve missed and been craving…

To Do Eat List:

Breakfast

Fluffy DinerPancakes with syrup and butter
Diner waffles with strawberries and whipped cream
Cinnamon raisin bagel with cream cheese and jelly
Toasted plain bagel with Cream cheese, bacon, tomato
Deli breakfast sandwich: Egg, ham, cheese, mayo

Lunch

Pizza from my two favorite pizzerias (Top Topping choices: Mushroom, Eggplant, Chicken broccoli, and garlic spinach ricotta)
Diner: Cheese Burger

Deli sandwich:
Ham, lettuce, tomato, mayo on a roll

Home cooked specialties: Chicky-ham sandwich.

Dinner

Eggplant Parm Hero
Calamari
Clams
Scallops

Home cooked specialties:
Chicken supreme, chicken pasta, BBQ

Dessert
Cannoli
Doughnut

Hershey pie
Any Entenmann’s cake

Oreos

___________________________________________________

…and so much more.

I guess foods remind you of home the most when you can’t easily have it where you are. This isn’t the healthiest list…but most cravings aren’t so good for you! Looking forward toΒ  having a taste of home for a month. I don’t intend to stuff my face with only these things the whole time, but as long as I can have each thing just once…

The biggest difference is that there aren’t really any diners or delis in Sweden. At least not the same kind, which is only natural. The Breakfast and Lunch culture is very different here than in New York.

And I know that once I get there I will crave food from Sweden. Food habits and cravings change after awhile. I eat more fruit now, I drink more water, I cook almost all the time, I eat salmon now (along with plenty of “new” foods), more pastries, less cookies, much less fast food, etc.

For now I’ll start organizing who to see, when, and what we will be doing in New York City. Home Sweet Home- The time will fly! I’m sure our stay will be busy and hectic and lots of fun. So many people to see and spend time with. Excited to go home and reconnect. And Eat.

17 thoughts on “Tickets to New York

  1. Wow, leaving during the Swedish summer?! At least you will be here for Midsommar. Try Spis and Deli in Lillatorg. Tremendous all natural food. Really tasty.

  2. IT makes me happy you are so excited about the food in America πŸ™‚ Guess I’m not the only one that looks forward to eating delicious things whenever I travel!

  3. How funny, I leave to head back to NY the same day. Food list would be almost exactly the same. I would just add english muffins, cheeseburger and a chocolate milkshake. I don’t find the burgers quite the same here. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog. We are in much the same situation. I moved to Malmo in November to be with my Swedish husband. Have a wonderful trip back to NY. Perhaps I will see you on the flight. πŸ™‚

    • Joy- I wouldn’t be surprised if we end up on the same flight being that you are in Malmo! We are flying out of CPH to JFK πŸ™‚

      I did list cheeseburgers- and that is number 1 on my husbands list, we are never satisfied with any burger we get in Sweden, so we make them at home.

      English muffins- yes! For sure! I know I must have missed a ton of things and places to eat! It’s something to keep everyone updated about I guess!

      Great hearing from you- hope you comment more! Always nice to hear from folks who move to Sweden, especially for love! Are you from New York or just visiting?

    • Joy – It’s Susan Touhsaent from Silver Bary. My nephew loved the postcard Anders wrote for me. What is the location of your personal blog? Thanks

  4. Oh, that all sounds so good! Can you bring back some NYC deli sandwiches for us, please?! I too am going back to the US in June, but to CA, and first thing on my list is an avocado. Then a burrito. Yum πŸ™‚

  5. LOL Can’t believe I passed the cheeseburger on your posting. I think I was so excited about all the food we will be eating soon! πŸ™‚ I am from New York….well grew up in Westchester County. If you haven’t done so yet, you should check out Eataly in Manhattan while you are there.

    I am flying on the SAS flight from CPH to EWR though… but perhaps we will pass one another at the airport. If you don’t hear from me before, have an incredible trip back!

  6. Oh man… pancakes and waffles with maple syrup… wasn’t missing those til you mentioned them, but now I bet I’ll be thinking of them all week!

  7. I am hungry now… thanks! lol Welcome home, maybe you guys can come visit for a day or so πŸ™‚ We’d love to have you!!!

  8. Wow, leaving during the Swedish summer?! At least you will be here for Midsommar. Try Spis and Deli in Lillatorg. Tremendous all natural food. Really tasty.Wow, leaving during the Swedish summer?! At least you will be here for Midsommar. Try Spis and Deli in Lillatorg. Tremendous all natural food. Really tasty.Tickets to New York | Cheap Flights to New York

  9. Pingback: New York City « Something Swedish

Comments, Feedback, Questions, and Answers are Welcome Here!

