Something Swedish

City Girl: “Stadstjejen”

9 Comments

Being from New York City there are a lot of things that I haven’t been exposed to that have been met with great amusement here in Sweden. Yesterday a friend invited me to come with her to take her horse, Wielka, to the vet. After waking up at 6am (unheard of these days and a huge accomplishment in my book), meeting at 7, getting the trailer, and then arriving at the stable by 8 I had to give her a heads up that I was going to act like an excited kid with a new toy.

I explained that this is a known fact because I have shown this behavior before. With cows. You see, there are cows that graze on my in-laws property and having never seen a cow up close and personal, I was completely in awe of them the first time I saw them so close. (who am I kidding, I’m still in awe) I am slightly obsessed with them when we go to visit.  I never would have imagined that cows have such curiosity – before I knew it a crowd forms each time I stood close enough to catch their attention.

 

I giggle in delight as they all come to say hi, foolishly standing near the fence taking photos, completely unaware of the bull glaring at me until someone tells me that I should move along. They tell me a story of my husbands grandmother needing to fend off a bull by sticking her fingers up its nose. The cows are an everyday thing to my new family, but to me it is still new and amazing, I find them so cute.

I didn’t realize that horses show the same curious behavior and I would be just as entertained and overjoyed. However this time there was no fence in between me and the new animals. When we made our way up the muddy path to the grass pasture there were about 5 or 6 horses that came to say hello as soon as we approached to harness her horse. I never realized how large horses are, which I quickly learned once they surrounded me with curiosity. I, on the other hand, was a giggling fool, so excited to be face to face with horses, a joy which was constantly interrupted by being very startled when they made any movement. I was laughing and amazed all while being frightened and intimidated, which I could only imagine made for a very entertaining image of this city girl. I let out small sounds of nervousness and ducked away when they got too close, I was just happy that I didn’t fall in the mud with iphone in hand.

My friend asked if I wanted rubber boots and a jacket, which thankfully was more of a statement than a question since I didn’t understand that we would be walking through mud and manure to get to the horse. My ideas of what it’s like having a horse was a fantasy delusion. When I was maybe 11 years old I took about three horseback riding lessons, indoors with a small horse, a clean stable, and an instructor holding the reins most of the time. Of course I thought I was a pro and this image of having a horse has always been the one in my mind, not all the hard work and maintenance involved.

And so we drove for an  hour with the horse trailer in tow to the vet in Helsingborg, which is south of Halmstad. It took a few hours, and was a good visit with good news. She got new horse shoes, which was very interesting to watch. First the hoof needs to be filed down and shaped, and then the horse shoe needs to be fitted to her hoof, formed on the anvil, and then nailed in. I never knew there were so many different kinds of horse shoes, why and when horses needed them, and that they can fix problems with the horses legs.

It was quite an experience for a city girl to spend the day with a horse, helping out with walking her, feeding her, wrapping her legs, blanketing her, and everything in between. I asked a lot of questions (maybe too many, and maybe some were silly) and felt like I learned a lot. At the end of the day I was no longer jumpy and scared of the huge animal, but instead felt like I understood her a bit more. It sure is a lot of work and I was exhausted but it is something I would certainly do again even if it means coming home smelling like mud and manure in desperate need of a shower and a nap. Who can resist this beautiful face!?

9 thoughts on “City Girl: “Stadstjejen”

  1. Wonderful narrative, Meg!! And of course, the last picture of the “horse’s face” was just great . . . good to see the ‘city girl’ experiencing so much country.

  2. Hi Megalagom,

    My boyfriend is from Sweden and moved to Germany for me. I love reading your blog to see what it’s like living in Sweden. I love going there. I have also been an expat (in France – I’m back in Germany since 2009) plus an exchange student to the US when I was 16, so I know what it’s like.
    My blog is in German (I write about baking, Sweden, and a little bit of decoration). I put you in the expat section of my blogroll because I really enjoy reading your posts. That way I keep up with my English as well. Thanks so much for sharing!
    Barbara

    • Hi Barbara! Where in Sweden is your boyfriend from/where do you visit? I’m so happy that you you enjoy my blog and thank you so much for adding me to your blogroll!! Great that you can relate to being an expat- might I ask why he moved there and you not here? Is it something that you are looking to do in the future? When I have time I will certainly put some of your posts through google translate! Those cupcakes look yummy!

      • Hi! He’s from Jämtland. That’s also where we visit. He came to Germany because his company could easily move him here. But I’m definitely interested in moving to Sweden one day. Glad that you liked my cupcakes!! 🙂

  3. I find cows fascinating too. I think it’s their great soulful eyes………..there’s a story in them.

  4. Maybe that organic reindeer farm wasn’t so far fetched an idea after all . . . .

  5. Pingback: Family Weekend: “Familjen Helgen” « Something Swedish

Comments, Feedback, Questions, and Answers are Welcome Here!

