Something Swedish

More Photos of Our Frozen River: “Fler bilder på våra frusna flod”

9 Comments

A relaxing post for a relaxing weekend.

A few days after my photo exploration on Sunday I noticed that the local river has begun to freeze over. Too tempted by the blueness in the sky (instead of the drab gray skies that haunted my last photos)  and the white ice where reflections were only days before, I took my camera for a second outing. I felt well prepared as I had gloves this time around, however I hadn’t realized that the temperature plummeted from 27  to 16 degrees Fahrenheit (-2 to -8 C)  (hence the icy river).

Lets go for a walk along the Nissan River:

We walk past this river, along that bridge almost every day to go to town. All the times I’ve walked up and down along the river it never occurred to me how dangerous it is!  It is all open, with ladders every once in a while.

Ladders and life rings. Very reassuring, especially when the ground is slippery and wet  and icy.

And especially when you can see footprints in the snow showing how close people walk to the edge. Doesn’t seem like it would take much to slip off.

And then I saw this. A hole in the ice…with a baby duck swimming around. Suddenly I became one of those foot prints closest to the edge, leaning on the railing, trying to get a photo of the duckling. Do you see his tiny head peeking out from under the ice on the bottom left hand side?

We played peek-a-boo and hide & seek for awhile. Every time I would move ever so slightly he would quickly retreat under the water with a splash and appear somewhere on the other side.

The ice goes as far as the next bridge upstream. The gushing sound of the water rushing  under the ice was relaxing.

Onto the bridge for a better view.

Lots of seagulls sitting atop the ice.

On the other side of the red bridge it looks like another time and place. Blue skies and blue water.

Happy Weekend- Stay Warm!

9 thoughts on “More Photos of Our Frozen River: “Fler bilder på våra frusna flod”

  1. Sidewalks have no railings at all, how do you not fall into the street!

  2. I have slipped off plenty of sidewalks! 🙂

  3. I would love to go to Holland one day and ice skate on their frozen rivers! Thank you for adding me to your blog list – it is a great compilation that I can’t wait to peruse 🙂 XOLaura

  4. I have beeen where you are but it was summertime. We were only there for 2 days though so didn’t see so much. Nice to see pictures of the river in winter 🙂

    That duckling is adorable!

    pipkinera

    • Yea, it is a very popular beach town during the summer, I have been here for 3 winters, a spring, and only one summer but never made it to the beach! Its a beautiful town all year round. The ducking made me smile 🙂

  5. If you get the chance to walk out there, take advantage of it! Check this out from last winter – http://joshandchelsey.blogspot.com/2011/02/walking-on-water.html

    • It seems like your water walking experience was a little safer- I wouldn’t trust walking on this river hehe. I wouldn’t mind a pond or something I see OTHER people walking on first (or a snow plow!) Amazing. Thank you for sharing

  6. Not sure if this is the right word for it, but it’s almost a surreal moment four isn’t it? when nature paints the world all white? 🙂

Comments, Feedback, Questions, and Answers are Welcome Here!

