Something Swedish

Cooking Swedish: Fläskpannkaka

6 Comments

A couple of weeks ago a friend of mine made a traditional Swedish dish called fläskpannkaka, or pork pancake. I’ve read about this food before and was curious about it because it seemed very simple and easy to make in addition to something that Swedes love to eat!

photo

It’s not just regular pancakes with pork, but instead a thicker version baked in the oven. The fläskpannkaka I ate was thinner and had spinach in it and I’ve read other recipes with parsley or other spices to give it a little different flavor and add some color. Below is the basic traditional way to make fläskpannkaka, enjoy!!

FLÄSKPANNKAKA

We used two different types of pork, as we didn’t have enough of either. Bacon works great, but the pork you’re supposed to use is called “rimmat fläsk” or “salted pork.” Many people prefer to bake the bacon or pork for 10-15 minutes instead of frying it by using the same pan as its going to be cooked in. Four eggs, 2.5 cups (6 dl) milk, and 1.5 cup (3.5 dl) flour with a sprinkle of salt and sugar into the batter.

Smaklig Måltid! Bon Apetitt!
6 thoughts on “Cooking Swedish: Fläskpannkaka

  1. I love ugnspannkaka! But the batter is often exactly the same as for regular pancakes, I don’t know what whas different about yours, why thicker? Anyway, there are of course endless variations, nothing is wrong, but basically you just make regular pancakebatter and pour it over whatever you like. Pork for dinner and apples, cinnamon and a little extra sugar for dessert, for example. Mmm, I’m getting hungry looking at those pictures!

    This is something most swedes was served in school, so even if their parents didn’t make it, they have eaten it growing up! As with a lot of typical swedish food. I dont think I know anyone that has ever made lapskojs, for example, but we have all eaten it (not children today, the schools have modernised their menus now).

    Nice blog!

    • The batter is pretty much the same, just doubled and cooked in a deeper pan – I meant that the ugnspannakaka itself is thick, not the batter :) My husband likes the thicker version, it was neat to compare to the thinner one that I had last week. Mmmm what a great suggestion – apples and cinnamon? Doing it!! Thanks, Hanna!

  2. I might have to make this for my husband soon since he loves it but I just cannot do the baked pancake thing!

  3. Ah, that makes more sense, now I understand! :) I hope you like the apple-and-cinnamon-kind (but who wouldn’t..!) :)

  4. Hi
    I found your blog while searching for swedish expat-blogs in the U.S. I love reading on how you discover “strange” swedish food and customs. I hope it’s ok that I have made a link from my blog to yours.

    Best regars
    Cilla (who is soon to become an expat in the US)

Comments, Feedback, Questions, and Answers are Welcome Here!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 509 other followers